Gautham Rao appointed as Chair of the Kathryn T. Preyer Committee, American Society for Legal History

Professor Bruce Mann of Harvard Law School, current President of the American Society for Legal History, has announced the appointment of Gautham Rao as Chair of the Society's committee on junior scholarship, The Kathryn T. Preyer Committee. The Committee's central goal is to choose annual winners of the Preyer Award, which recognizes outstanding works by junior scholars (graduate students, law students, and early career scholars) in the field of legal history. The competition is international in scope. In addition to a cash prize, winners present their work at the Society's annual meeting on a panel moderated by leading scholars in the field. More broadly, the Committee seeks to encourage the continued growth of legal history in law schools and history departments.