Political science is the study of political actors, institutions, processes, and policies. At the center of the discipline is the study of how different types of resources are distributed among individuals, communities, and states. The discipline's subfields include American Politics and Public Policy, Comparative Politics, Political Theory, and Global Politics. 


Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science at Rutgers University-Newark offers:
* an undergraduate Major in Political Science,
* an undergraduate Minor in Political Science,

*an undergraduate Minor in Global Politics,
*an undergraduate Minor in International Affairs
* a Master of Arts (MA) degree in Political Science, and
* a Bachelor’s-Master’s Dual Degree Program

The program provides both undergraduate and graduate students with the critical-thinking and writing skills required for civic engagement in a democratic society and enables them to pursue careers in the public, non-profit, and private sectors or to pursue further study in political science, law, public service and administration, criminal justice, non-profit administration, global politics, and international relations. The program includes opportunities for internships related to domestic and international politics.

360 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd
Hill Hall Room 717
Newark, N. J. 07102
Phone : (973) 353 - 5105 Fax : (973) 353 - 5103