Department of Psychology

Faculty

Faculty

 

Assistant Professor
Cognitive development and computational modeling; causal, social inference; conceptual change
Associate Professor & Graduate Director
Violent and non-violent antisocial behavior; evidence-based interventions for conduct problems and delinquency; juvenile justice practices and policies; socialization  and social development; influence of violence in communities, the media, families, and peer groups on individual behavior and mental health.
Associate Professor
Behavioral and neural correlates of reward-related processing, with an emphasis on how the affective properties of outcomes or feedback influence choice behavior. using neuroimaging and behavioral and psychophysiological methods.
Professor I & Graduate Director
Visual cognition; surface-color perception.
Assistant Professor
Functional brain imaging of language and reading. Tracking in both space (using magnetic resonance imaging) and time (using magnetoencephalography) how the brain computes sound and meaning from what we see.
Professor I & RUBIC Director
Computational neuroimaging, memory and learning, connectionist models, categorization, big data modeling.
Associate Professor
Interracial feedback biases; the effects of resources (e.g., social support, self worth) on perception and judgment; how self-esteem promotes attention to emotions; the effects of emotional disclosure on social judgment; and how emotional disclosure leads to news broadcasting.
Distinguished Professor
Brain activity related to genital stimulation, sexual response, orgasm, and analgesia in women and men, measured by functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI).
Professor I
Social and interpersonal conflict; behavior and unconscious cognitive schema of professionals who mediate conflict; expertise in mediation and related fields (e.g marital therapy; organizational ombudsman).
Assistant Professor
Cognitive, emotional, and perceptual development in infants and young children; threat perception; fear learning.
Assistant Professor
Implicit social cognition; effect of stereotypes, prejudice, and discrimination on stigmatized individuals' self-concept and identity, and mental and physical health.
Maggie Shiffrar
Professor I
Visual motion perception; object recognition.
Professor I & Chair
Attachment theory; adult attachment; attitudes toward mother and other adult relationships.
Assistant Professor
Functional neuroimaging of learning and decision making; the influences of affective information on cognitive processing, neural basis of goal-directed behavior.
Associate Professor & Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education
Conceptual understanding of physical objects and numbers and the interaction between conceptual development and linguistic abilities, particularly the relationship between children's ability to categorize and label classes of objects.

Emeritus Faculty

Colin Beer
Professor Emeritus
Communication behavior, social development, and breeding biology of gulls.
Mei-Fang Cheng
Professor Emeritus
Social factors in adult neurogenesis.

Assistant Instructors

Gerard La Morte Assistant Instructor & Undergraduate Coordinator
Allyson Meloni Assistant Instructor
Christina Zambrano Assistant Instructor

Non-Tenure Track Faculty
 

Uri Amit
anihoo@andromeda.rutgers.edu
Mary Cahill
megritzhill@gmail.com
Brent Costleigh
bcostleigh@brookdalecc.edu
Eugene DeRobertis
ederobertis@brookdalecc.edu
Michelle Drapkin
michelledrapkin@gmail.com
Jaqueline Gallios
jgallios@psychology.rutgers.edu
Frank Gengaro
frankg@psychology.rutgers.edu
Tim Gersch
gersch@psychology.rutgers.edu
Matthew Giobbi
matthew.giobbi@rutgers.edu
Diana Glynn
diana@psychology.rutgers.edu
Mohammed Haghighi
haghighi@psychology.rutgers.edu
Ellen Halpern
halperne@andromeda.rutgers.edu
Robert Jaskiewicz
robjaskiewicz@gmail.com
Pooja Lakshmin
plakshmin@gmail.com
Karen McFadden
karen.mcfadden@rutgers,edu
Elizabeth Murray
elizabeth.megan.murray@gmail.com
Anthony Zoccolillo
profzocc@andromeda.rutgers.edu

Non-Tenure Track Criteria

 

Associated Graduate Faculty from Other Departments

jbaustin@andromeda.rutgers.edu
benasich@andromeda.rutgers.edu
gabri@andromeda.rutgers.edu
gluck@pavlov.rutgers.edu
rkurland@rutgers.edu
jmorrell@andromeda.rutgers.edu
cemyers@andromeda.rutgers.edu
Paula Tallal
tallal@andromeda.rutgers.edu