Office of the Dean

The Office of the Dean supports the seventeen departments and four academic programs that make up the Faculty of Arts and Sciences–Newark (FASN).

The Dean's Office is located on the west side of the 3rd floor of Hill Hall at 360 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd., Newark, NJ 07102-1801. General questions about the academic programs of the College of Arts and Sciences and University College can be directed to 973-353-5213.  Questions about the Graduate School can be directed to 973-353-5834.


Office of the Dean
Name Position Office
Jan Lewis Dean of Faculty Hill 325
Sherri-Ann Butterfield Senior Associate Dean of Faculty Hill 325
Gretchen Van de Walle Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education Hill 325
Mirela Ngjela Associate Dean for Budget and Administration Hill 325
Elizabeth Rowe Associate Dean for Instructional Programs,
Services & Outreach
Hill 325
Sallie Kasper Assistant Dean for Faculty Affairs Hill 325
John Driscoll Unit Computing Manager Hill 325
Abeer Elahraf Project Manager Hill 325
Eric Fonseca Application Developer Hill 830
Lawrence Lerner Assistant Director of Communications Hill 318
Annabelle Luu Assistant Dean for Budget and Personnel Hill 324
Vanessa McDonald-Hobbs Development Coordinator Hill 323
Jessica Tobin Accounting Assistant Hill 324
Marcel Vaughn Handy Director of Development Hill 323
Deborah Williams Assistant to the Dean Hill 325


To view a staff person's email address, please click on his or her profile.